For the Fourth

Although I have moved to Germany and am often very “pro-German,” I honestly miss the patriotism that my previous country displayed so regularly. Today of all days has especially reminded me of my Patriotism. I sported The Pat today (my old school’s mascot), and reminisced with my Mama about the previous annual Honor America celebrations that College of the Ozarks hosted. We agreed that we miss this event, along with our neighborhood fireworks contest and the Novak school fourth of July bonfires. πŸ™‚ Despite all of this Branson Patriotism, God has placed us in the perfect environment. Yesterday, we visited Daddy’s workplace that is located on one of the many US bases in this area, and Dads told us that everyday at 5 PM, the United States national anthem is played, and all military personnel stand at attention for the duration of the song. The base is, of course, only occupied by soldiers and their families. Going to the School of the Ozarks this year has greatly increased my respect for our soldiers. Ramstein base, the base on which my Daddy works, is one of the largest US military bases in the world, and has great facilities that we are permitted to use (if we have IDs, which my mom and I currently do not possess…). Ramstein also has a carnival which was open yesterday as well as today, in honor of the fourth, and tonight, the base will set off fireworks! πŸ™‚
To conclude, not much is going on for us… We got a few dresses and some nightstands today, but we are still waiting to get our container. Currently, we are watching the Germany vs. France game. ahem. #IBELIEVEGERMANYWILLWIN ahem. Tomorrow I am off to Switzerland for Church Camp! πŸ™‚

God Bless America! πŸ˜‰

Clara Huff

Leave a reply | PRONEWANDERER